Tags

, , ,

Welcome to the 12 Days of Christmas blog hop!  I’m joining 21 other authors for 12 days of fun talking about our favorite parts of Christmas, and of course our favorite subject – BOOKS!  

Today is about my favorite recipe for the holidays.  I must admit I’m not much of a cook – that falls to my husband who is an excellent cook.  He makes up his own recipes sometimes.  But I make a mean Peanut Butter Blossom – it’s the one thing I make without fail every Christmas season.  When I was a teenager and lived with my dad and stepmom, she made these cookies every year.  It was my dad’s job to peel the foil off the chocolate Kisses…and the trick was to have more in the bowl than in his belly.  I think that’s why it’s my favorite thing to make – it reminds me of him.  

Here’s the recipe: 

Ingredients

  • 48 HERSHEY’S KISSES Brand Milk Chocolates
  • 1/2 cup shortening (I’ve used butter, but shortening does make a difference)
  • 3/4 cup creamy Peanut Butter 
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Additional granulated sugar (optional)

    Directions

    1. Heat oven to 375°F. Remove wrappers from chocolates. I keep them in the freezer until I’m ready to unwrap them, then pop them back in the freezer until it’s time to press onto the cookies.

    2. Beat shortening and peanut butter in large bowl until well blended. Add 1/3 cup granulated sugar and brown sugar; beat until fluffy. Add egg, milk and vanilla; beat well. Stir together flour, baking soda and salt; gradually beat into peanut butter mixture.

    3. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Roll in granulated sugar; place on ungreased cookie sheet. However, I use parchment paper now.  It makes for easier cleanup, and once they come out of the oven, I slide the parchment paper onto the counter for the cookies to cool.

    4. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Immediately press a chocolate into center of each cookie; cookie will crack around edges. Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack (or slide that parchment paper onto the counter). Cool completely. Makes about 48 cookies.

    The last few years my husband has encouraged me to experiment with the cookies.  I’ve tried the caramel chocolate Kisses, the Kisses with the almonds, even the Hugs.  I have made the dough with chocolate chips, and another time with mini M&Ms.  Extra goodness!

    Now I’d like to introduce you to Rachel Lacey, a fellow author from Soul Mate Publishing.  Merry Christmas, Rachel!

    Unleashed by Rachel Lacey

    Rachel Lacey Unleashed Book Cover

    What happens when you find the right one at the wrong time?

    Cara Medlen has a serious case of animal attraction. And it’s not because of all the foster dogs she’s rescued. She’s got it bad for her incredibly sexy neighbor. Her one rule: Don’t get attached. It’s served her well with the dogs she’s given to good homes and the children she’s nannied. Yet the temptation of Matt’s sexy smile might just convince her that some rules are made to be broken.

    Matt Dumont doesn’t need his skills as a private investigator to detect disaster on the horizon. Cara is everything he thought he’d never find—gorgeous, funny, and caring. But there’s no way he can start a relationship just as he’s about to move to another state. Talk about bad timing. As their attraction sizzles too hot to deny, they’ll have to make a decision: forget the consequences and let loose, or forget each other and let go…

    Buy Links:   Amazon  | B&N  |  iTunes  |  Kobo

    12 Days of Christmas Blog Hop Button with Frame

    As part of The 12 Days of Christmas celebration, Rachel donated a Bark Less, Wag More Coffee Mug & Author Swag, paired with a $10 Starbucks card from Cynthia Gail to the prize list. Click HERE for this and many more random drawings.  To follow the celebration, find a new recipe, pick up a holiday decorating or shopping tip, click HERE.

    About the Author

    Rachel Lacey lives in North Carolina, with her husband, son, and their own rescued pup. She volunteers her spare time with Carolina Boxer Rescue and truly has a passion for helping our furry friends. She is a member of the Romance Writers of America as well as her local Heart of Carolina RWA chapter.

    Connect: WebsiteFacebook | Twitter | Goodreads

